Latest news

Opening Ceremony and the official start of the 8ECM

Monday, June 21 2021, at 9 a.m. (CEST)

Join us for the official start of the 8th European Congress of Mathematics!


Start of the Opening Ceremony is on Monday, 21 June 2021 at 9.00 (CEST). The ceremony will be streamed online and will be available to the public via this link: https://vimeo.com/event/1060179


For those who will be present at the 8ECM venue, you are kindly invited to join us live at the Congress centre Bernardin, in the lecture hall Emerald (main floor).


The keynote speakers at the ceremony are:

His Excellency Mr. Borut Pahor, President of the Republic of Slovenia,

Professor Volker Mehrmann (TU Berlin), President of the European Mathematical Association,

Professor Tomaž Pisanski, 8ECM Organizing Committee Chair,

Professor Martin Bridson, FRS, (University of Oxford), EMS Prize Committee Chair,

Professor Ralf Korn (TU Kaiserslautern), Felix Klein Prize Committee Chair,

Professor Eberhart Knobloch, Otto Neugebauer Prize Committee Chair,

Professor Klavdija Kutnar, Rector of the University of Primorska and 8ECM Organizing Committee Deputy-chair.


We look forward to welcoming you

at the one of the largest scientific events in Slovenia in 2021!


The video of the 8ECM opening ceremony is now availble!