Latest news

Prize winners announced

10 EMS Prizes, the Felix Klein Prize and the Otto Neugebauer Prize for 2020 announced

Every four years, during the European Congress of Mathematics, the European Mathematical Society awards 10 EMS Prizes, the Felix Klein Prize and the Otto Neugebauer Prize. All prize winners are usually announced at the Opening Ceremony at the beginning of the congress. Unfortunately, this year the tradition called for an alternative.

EMS Prize winners were selected by Prize Committee members, who are appointed by the EMS, and who were presided over by Martin Bridson (University of Oxford).

The 10 EMS Prizes are awarded “to young researchers not older than 35 years, of European nationality or working in Europe, in recognition of excellent contributions in  mathematics.” The 10 EMS Prizes are funded by Foundation Compositio Mathematica and EMS Press.


The European Mathematical Society is happy to announce that the

EMS prize winners for 2020 are:


The Felix Klein Prize is awarded “to a scientist, or a group of at most three scientists, under the age of 38 for using sophisticated methods to give an outstanding solution, which meets with the complete satisfaction of industry, to a concrete and difficult industrial problem.” The Felix Klein Prize fund is offered by the Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Mathematics in Kaiserslautern.

The 2020 Felix Klein Prize winner is

Arnulf Jentzen (University of Münster)


The Otto Neugebauer Prize is awarded “for highly original and influential work in the field of history of mathematics that enhances our understanding of either the development of mathematics or a particular mathematical subject in any period and in any geographical region.” The Otto Neugebauer Prize Fund is offered by Springer Verlag.

The 2020 Otto Neugebauer Prize winner is

Karine Chemla (Université de Paris and CNRS)


All prize lectures will take place at the 8ECM in 2021, from 20 – 26 June in Portorož, Slovenia. See https://8ecm.si/prizes to find out more about the prize winners.


The organizers of the 8ECM extend their sincere congratulations to all the winners and look forward to welcoming them at the 8ECM in 2021!